Ingredients
Synaptril Ingredients: All 6 Blend Lines and the Math
Synaptril ingredients are six lines in one 575 mg proprietary blend: magnesium glycinate, alpha-lipoic acid, butcher's broom root, L-carnitine, turmeric extract and CoQ10. Only the magnesium is printed, at 80 mg, and the glycinate likely fills most of the blend. No trial has tested the capsule.
Written by the Synaptril label deskUpdated
Label lines01
What are the Synaptril ingredients?
The Synaptril ingredients are six blend lines in one 575 mg proprietary blend, plus a capsule shell and four helpers.
They are a mineral, two antioxidants, two plant extracts and an amino compound.
-
80 mg Mg printed01Magnesium glycinate
Line 1 of 6: the only printed amount
Magnesium bound to the amino acid glycine
Evidence: No memory trials found; a small sleep-onset effect in older adultsSite graphic made from the label wording, not a product photo.
Per capsule80 mg magnesium (printed)
Studied atRDA 310-420 mg a day from all sources; supplement limit 350 mg
Watch forLoose stools at high intake; space it from some antibiotics and bisphosphonates; kidney disease needs a doctor's advice.
Full profile -
Line 2 of 602Alpha-lipoic acid
Line 2 of 6 in the blend
A sulfur compound the body makes; an antioxidant
Evidence: Too limited to judge for memorySite graphic made from the label wording, not a product photo.
Per capsuleat most 288 mg by label order; likely under 175 mg
Studied at600 mg a day in small Alzheimer's studies
Watch forMay lower blood sugar, especially with diabetes medicines; a rare autoimmune low blood sugar has been reported.
Full profile -
Line 3 of 603Butcher's broom
Line 3 of 6 in the blend
Ruscus aculeatus root, a small evergreen shrub
Evidence: No brain or memory evidence foundSite graphic made from the label wording, not a product photo.
Per capsuleat most 192 mg by label order; likely under 88 mg
Studied atTraditional use for heavy legs; no brain dose exists
Watch forNo side effects were on record at EMA's review; leg symptoms lasting over 2 weeks need a doctor.
Full profile -
Line 4 of 604L-carnitine
Line 4 of 6 in the blend
An amino acid compound the body makes
Evidence: Unclear; a Cochrane review found no routine benefitSite graphic made from the label wording, not a product photo.
Per capsuleat most 144 mg by label order; likely under 58 mg
Studied atMemory studies used acetyl-L-carnitine, 1.5-3 g a day (a different form)
Watch forFishy body odor and stomach upset near 3 g a day; gut bacteria turn it into TMAO.
Full profile -
Line 5 of 605Turmeric and curcumin
Line 5 of 6 in the blend
Curcuma longa root, standardized to curcuminoids
Evidence: Small, mixed pilot trialsSite graphic made from the label wording, not a product photo.
Per capsuleat most 115 mg by label order; likely under 44 mg
Studied at180 mg curcumin a day as Theracurmin in one 18-month pilot
Watch forRare liver injury, mostly with high-absorption products; may raise bleeding risk with blood thinners.
Full profile -
Line 6 of 606Coenzyme Q10
Line 6 of 6: the smallest share
Ubiquinone, a compound cells use to make energy
Evidence: No cognitive benefit in brain-disease trialsSite graphic made from the label wording, not a product photo.
Per capsuleat most 96 mg by label order; likely under 35 mg
Studied atTypical supplements 30-100 mg a day
Watch forMay weaken warfarin; mild sleep trouble or stomach upset.
Full profile
Label order02
Why does the order of the Synaptril ingredients list matter?
The order matters because a proprietary blend must list its lines from most to least by weight (21 CFR 101.36, supplement labeling).
Line 2 can weigh at most half the blend, line 3 a third, and so on. That caps alpha-lipoic acid at 288 mg, butcher's broom at 192, L-carnitine at 144, turmeric at 115 and CoQ10 at 96. Real amounts are likely lower.
Glycinate share03
How much magnesium glycinate is in Synaptril?
Likely about 400-570 mg of the 575 mg blend is magnesium glycinate, by our estimate. The compound is only about 14% magnesium, or up to about 20% in buffered grades.
That leaves about 5-175 mg for the other five.
- 1Magnesium glycinate80 mg Mg printed
- 2Alpha-lipoic acidnot printed
- 3Butcher's broomnot printed
- 4L-carnitinenot printed
- 5Turmeric (95% curcuminoids)not printed
- 6Coenzyme Q10not printed
Step 1. The label prints 80 mg of magnesium "as magnesium glycinate from proprietary blend".
Step 2. By formula weight, magnesium glycinate is about 14% magnesium; buffered grades run up to about 20%. So 80 mg of magnesium needs about 400-570 mg of the compound.
Step 3. 575 mg minus that leaves about 5-175 mg for alpha-lipoic acid, butcher's broom, L-carnitine, turmeric and CoQ10 together.
Our estimate from the label, not a lab test. A blend has to list its total and its order, not single amounts (21 CFR 101.36, supplement labeling). Magnesium figures from NIH (NIH ODS, Magnesium).
Dose vs research04
Are the Synaptril ingredient doses close to the studied doses?
Mostly not. The printed magnesium is about a fifth of the adult RDA (NIH ODS, Magnesium), and the other five likely sit far below the amounts used in research.
Memory studies used 1,500-3,000 mg of acetyl-L-carnitine a day (NIH ODS, Carnitine). One capsule likely holds at most about 58 mg of plain L-carnitine, under 4% of that.
| Label line | Place | Per capsule | Amount used in research | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magnesium Glycinate (magnesium 80 mg, 19% DV) | 1 of 6 | 80 mg magnesium (printed) | RDA 310-420 mg a day from all sources; supplement limit 350 mg (NIH ODS, Magnesium) (Mah & Pitre 2021, magnesium and sleep) | No memory trials found; a small sleep-onset effect in older adults |
| Alpha Lipoic Acid | 2 of 6 | at most 288 mg by label order; likely under 175 mg | 600 mg a day in small Alzheimer's studies (Linus Pauling Institute, Lipoic Acid) (MSKCC, Alpha-Lipoic Acid) | Too limited to judge for memory |
| Butcher's Broom (Ruscus aculeatus) Root Extract | 3 of 6 | at most 192 mg by label order; likely under 88 mg | Traditional use for heavy legs; no brain dose exists (EMA, Rusci rhizoma (butcher's broom)) | No brain or memory evidence found |
| L-Carnitine | 4 of 6 | at most 144 mg by label order; likely under 58 mg | Memory studies used acetyl-L-carnitine, 1.5-3 g a day (a different form) (NIH ODS, Carnitine) (Cochrane, acetyl-L-carnitine for dementia) | Unclear; a Cochrane review found no routine benefit |
| Turmeric (Curcuma longa) Rhizome Extract 95% Curcuminoids | 5 of 6 | at most 115 mg by label order; likely under 44 mg | 180 mg curcumin a day as Theracurmin in one 18-month pilot (NCCIH, Turmeric) (NIH LiverTox, Turmeric) (MSKCC, Turmeric) (Small et al. 2018, curcumin and memory) | Small, mixed pilot trials |
| Coenzyme Q 10 (as Ubiquinone) | 6 of 6 | at most 96 mg by label order; likely under 35 mg | Typical supplements 30-100 mg a day (NCCIH, Coenzyme Q10) (Linus Pauling Institute, Coenzyme Q10) (MSKCC, Coenzyme Q10) | No cognitive benefit in brain-disease trials |

Synaptril: from $49 a bottle30 capsules · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · free shipping on 3 or 6 · 60-day money-back guarantee
See packsFillers05
What are the other ingredients in Synaptril?
The other ingredients are the capsule shell and four helpers: Hypromellose (Vegetable Capsule), Microcrystalline Cellulose, Magnesium Stearate, Stearic Acid, Silicon Dioxide. They sit outside the 575 mg blend, and their amounts are not printed.
Hypromellose is a plant-cellulose shell. The other four fill space and keep the powder flowing.
Diet check06
Is Synaptril vegan or vegetarian?
Synaptril has a vegetable capsule shell, but the label does not say the whole product is vegan.
Stearates can come from plant or animal fat, and the source is not stated.
Medicine flags07
Which Synaptril ingredients need a doctor's check first?
Three lines carry medicine flags. Turmeric and CoQ10 can affect warfarin (MSKCC, Turmeric) (Linus Pauling Institute, Coenzyme Q10), alpha-lipoic acid may lower blood sugar with diabetes medicines (Linus Pauling Institute, Lipoic Acid), and magnesium can block some antibiotics (NIH ODS, Magnesium).
Keep taking prescribed medicine, and ask your pharmacist about timing. See Synaptril side effects, the full Synaptril label and how the blend works.
FAQ08
Synaptril ingredients: questions people ask
Why are the amounts of the Synaptril ingredients hidden?
US rules let a proprietary blend print only its total weight and its order (21 CFR 101.36, supplement labeling), so single amounts do not have to appear. Synaptril prints one: 80 mg of magnesium. For the other five, the label order gives ceilings, not amounts.
Which ingredient is the largest in Synaptril?
Magnesium glycinate. It is listed first, so it weighs the most, and supplying 80 mg of magnesium likely takes about 400-570 mg of the compound. That is most of the blend, by our estimate from the label, which leaves little room for the other five.
Is there more alpha-lipoic acid or CoQ10 in Synaptril?
Alpha-lipoic acid. It sits second on the list and CoQ10 sits last, and blends list lines from most to least by weight (21 CFR 101.36, supplement labeling). The order gives rank, not size: alpha-lipoic acid is likely under about 175 mg, CoQ10 under about 35 mg.
Does Synaptril contain gelatin?
No gelatin is listed. The shell is hypromellose, a vegetable capsule shell made from plant cellulose. The source of the magnesium stearate and stearic acid is not stated, so strict vegans may want to ask the order desk before buying.
What does magnesium stearate do in Synaptril?
It is a flow helper. Magnesium stearate and stearic acid stop the capsule powder from sticking to the filling machine, and silicon dioxide keeps it from clumping. They sit outside the 575 mg blend, and their amounts are not printed.
Does Synaptril contain gluten, soy or dairy?
None of those three appear among the listed Synaptril ingredients. The brand shows gluten-free and dairy-free badges, but the label prints no allergen statement and names no tester or certifier. With a serious allergy, call the order desk before you buy.
Who wrote this09
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the sales page and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by an American Synaptril authorized shop, not by the manufacturer or the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Synaptril
American Synaptril authorized shop
Ready to try Synaptril?
Start with a medicine check, then choose your pack. Three or six bottles cost less per bottle and ship free, and each pack comes with the 60-day money-back guarantee.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day money-back guarantee
- Ships from the U.S.



