American Synaptril authorized shop1 capsule a day · 30 capsules a bottleFree shipping on 3 or 6 bottles60-day money-back guarantee
Order now

Blog · Turmeric

Curcumin Absorption: Why So Little Reaches the Blood

Quick answer

Curcumin absorption is poor: the body takes up only a small share of the curcumin in a plain turmeric extract. NCCIH says so directly. The Synaptril label lists turmeric extract at 95% curcuminoids but names no absorption-aid form, and it prints no amount. The memory study people quote used a different, high-absorption product.

Written by the Synaptril label deskUpdated · 4 min read

Site graphic of the turmeric line from the Synaptril label
A site graphic drawn from the label wording, not a photo. The label names turmeric rhizome extract with 95% curcuminoids.

The basics01

What is curcumin absorption?

Curcumin absorption is the share of swallowed curcumin that actually gets into your blood. For ordinary turmeric extract, that share is small.

Curcumin is the main colored compound in turmeric. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health notes that it is poorly absorbed and that no use of turmeric has a proven benefit (NCCIH, Turmeric).

So a capsule can list a big-sounding extract and still deliver very little curcumin to the body. The number on a label is the amount you swallow, not the amount you take up.

Think of a glass of water with a spoon of sand in it. Most of the sand stays at the bottom. Curcumin behaves a little like that in the gut: plenty goes in, and only a thin share crosses into the blood.

The reasons02

Why is curcumin so hard to absorb?

Curcumin is hard to absorb because it dissolves poorly in water and the body clears it quickly. Most of what you swallow passes through.

That is why makers sell special forms: coated particles, fat-based blends or added pepper extract. Each aims to raise what reaches the blood. NCCIH warns that these high-absorption forms may carry a higher chance of liver harm (NCCIH, Turmeric).

The trade-off is simple. Better uptake could mean a stronger dose in the body, with more risk as well. Our page on turmeric and curcumin in Synaptril covers the safety side.

None of these tricks is a guarantee. Two products with the same milligram figure can behave very differently in the body, so a number alone tells you little about what you are getting.

Plain extract versus a high-absorption product
PointPlain extractHigh-absorption product
Uptake into bloodLowHigher, by design
Used in the 2018 memory pilotNoYes (Theracurmin)
Named on the Synaptril labelNot statedNot stated

On the bottle03

How much curcumin could a Synaptril capsule hold?

A Synaptril capsule likely holds less than 44 mg of turmeric extract. That is our estimate from the label, not a lab result.

The label lists turmeric fifth in a 575 mg blend, and the first line, magnesium glycinate, takes most of the weight. The ceiling by label order alone is 115 mg, and the tighter estimate after the glycinate is under about 44 mg (21 CFR 101.36, supplement labeling).

Because the extract is 95% curcuminoids, the curcumin itself would be a little less than that. Compare it with the 2018 pilot: 90 mg of curcumin twice a day (Small et al. 2018, curcumin and memory).

  • Magnesium

    26% of the low end
    1 capsule, printed on the label80 mg
    RDA for adults, 310-420 mg a day from all sources310-420 mg

    Printed on the label: 80 mg of magnesium, 19% DV. (NIH ODS, Magnesium)

  • Alpha-lipoic acid

    29% of the low end at most
    1 capsule, label-order ceiling (line 2)288 mg
    1 capsule, likely most after the magnesium175 mg
    600 mg a day in small Alzheimer's studies600 mg

    Not printed: line 2 of 6 in a 575 mg blend. (Linus Pauling Institute, Lipoic Acid)

  • L-carnitine

    3.9% of the low end at most
    1 capsule, label-order ceiling (line 4)144 mg
    1 capsule, likely most after the magnesium58 mg
    1.5-3 g a day of acetyl-L-carnitine in memory studies1,500-3,000 mg

    Not printed: line 4 of 6 in a 575 mg blend. (NIH ODS, Carnitine)

  • Turmeric extract

    24% of the low end at most
    1 capsule, label-order ceiling (line 5)115 mg
    1 capsule, likely most after the magnesium44 mg
    180 mg curcumin a day (Theracurmin) in one pilot180 mg

    Not printed: line 5 of 6 in a 575 mg blend. (Small et al. 2018, curcumin and memory)

  • Coenzyme Q10

    117% of the low end at most
    1 capsule, label-order ceiling (line 6)96 mg
    1 capsule, likely most after the magnesium35 mg
    30-100 mg a day in typical supplements30-100 mg

    Not printed: line 6 of 6 in a 575 mg blend. (Linus Pauling Institute, Coenzyme Q10)

Blue bars: what one capsule can hold. The label prints only the magnesium amount. For the other lines we show two ceilings: the most the label order allows (575 mg divided by the line number) and our tighter estimate once the magnesium glycinate takes its share (about 175 mg left for five lines). Gold bars: daily amounts used in studies or typical products. Real amounts may be far lower than either ceiling.

Synaptril: from $49 a bottle30 capsules · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · free shipping on 3 or 6 · 60-day money-back guarantee

See packs

The study04

Does better curcumin absorption mean a better result?

Not necessarily. Better absorption only means more curcumin reaches the blood, and no one has shown that more means a memory result.

The 2018 pilot followed 40 adults aged 51 to 84 for 18 months. It used Theracurmin and reported gains in verbal memory and attention. It was small, and the product was a different high-absorption form (Small et al. 2018, curcumin and memory).

Memorial Sloan Kettering rates the cognition evidence as weak and notes a null Alzheimer's pilot (MSKCC, Turmeric). Treat the small study as a lead for researchers, not a promise for a capsule you can buy.

No trial has tested the Synaptril capsules themselves. So even a perfect absorption story would leave the main question open: does this blend, at these unlisted amounts, do anything you could notice?

Your decision05

Should absorption decide whether you buy Synaptril?

It can be one factor. Absorption matters, but the missing amount and the missing study matter more.

If you try the capsules, use the 60-day guarantee as a checking window, and ask your doctor first if you take a blood thinner or have liver concerns. Keep taking any prescribed medicine as directed.

A fair buyer asks three things: what form is the extract, how much is in a capsule, and what proof exists for that exact product. For Synaptril, the answers today are not stated, not printed and none.

American Synaptril authorized shop

Ready to try Synaptril?

Start with a medicine check, then choose your pack. Three or six bottles cost less per bottle and ship free, and each pack comes with the 60-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure checkout
  • 60-day money-back guarantee
  • Ships from the U.S.
Three white Synaptril bottles

FAQ06

Curcumin absorption questions

Is curcumin absorbed better with fat?

Curcumin dissolves in fat more readily than in water, so a meal with some fat may help a little. The Synaptril label gives no food rule, so the label direction is simply one capsule daily.

Does Synaptril use a special curcumin form?

The label names turmeric rhizome extract with 95% curcuminoids and no branded or enhanced form. That points to a plain extract, though the maker has not said so outright.

Does heating turmeric change how much you absorb?

Our sources do not give a figure for cooking. They focus on supplements, where the main fact is that plain curcumin is poorly absorbed whatever you do with it.

Can curcumin that absorbs well be riskier?

It may be. NCCIH has said high-absorption forms could raise the chance of liver harm. If you notice dark urine or yellow skin, stop and call a doctor.

Who wrote this07

Written and reviewed by

Written byThe Synaptril label deskMysynaptril, American Synaptril authorized shop

Pages built from the label, the sales page and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.

Medically reviewed byDr. Neelum Aggarwal, MD, PhysicianRole: Medical reviewerReview date: October 19, 2026

Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by an American Synaptril authorized shop, not by the manufacturer or the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.

American Synaptril authorized shop

Ready to try Synaptril?

Start with a medicine check, then choose your pack. Three or six bottles cost less per bottle and ship free, and each pack comes with the 60-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure checkout
  • 60-day money-back guarantee
  • Ships from the U.S.
Three white Synaptril bottles

SynaptrilFrom $49 a bottle · free shipping on 3 or 6 · 60-day money-back guarantee

See packs